Is CBD legal in Oregon?
This is a common question for residents in Oregon. CBD is legal in Oregon as long as it conforms to all state and federal standards. Since 2016, all forms of hemp and marijuana-derived CBD products are legal in the state. If the product contains less than 0.3 percent THC or tetrahydrocannabinol then it is legal nationwide.
What Makes CBD Legal in Oregon?
The 2018 Farm Bill removed industrial hemp and all its extracts from the Controlled Substances Act (CSA) across the United States. The Act re-categorized industrial hemp as an agricultural commodity. It permits a wide range of practical uses including the production of oils, textiles, fibers, foods, cosmetics, beverages, and more. The CSA offered a detailed framework for the cultivation of industrial hemp at a federal level. The US Department of Agriculture (USDA) was named as the regulatory authority over hemp cultivation. States have the authority to monitor the cultivation of industrial hemp within their borders by submitting a plan to the USDA.
Oregon was one of the first states to permit the cultivation of industrial hemp following the 2014 Farm Bill. The Oregon Department of Agriculture (ODA) monitors the cultivation and procession of industrial hemp in the state. Any grower (handler) should obtain a license from the ODA before growing hemp. The handler should also comply with state regulations. These include comprehensive reporting, record-keeping, and THC testing the industrial hemp. In fact, Oregon is one of the very first states in the country that allowed commercial CBD products. Oregon also permits the sale of CBD foods, dietary supplements, non-alcoholic beverages, vapes, and cosmetics. These products must contain less than 0.3 percent THC.
Oregon CBD laws
Under Oregon state laws, cannabis — including CBD — has been legal recreationally and medically since 2014. That means that in Oregon, both hemp-derived and marijuana-derived CBD were already legal at the state level prior to the passing of the 2018 Farm Bill. However, in some aspects, it follows federal law.
Oregon currently follows the same CBD classification regulations as outlined by the 2018 Farm Bill. Under the state’s current hemp program, businesses do not need to apply for any type of licensure or registration to sell CBD products, as long as they meet federal requirements, contain less than 0.3% THC, and aren’t advertised as a dietary supplement.
There are no restrictions on the sale of CBD products to individuals 21 and older, except for inhalant delivery systems and their components.
Oregon CBD Retail Law
In the U.S., the 2018 Farm Bill removed industrial hemp (and its extracts) from the Controlled Substances Act
and legalized hemp to be considered as an agricultural product. It has had a wide range of practical uses
including the production of fibers, textiles, cosmetics, foods, beverages, oils and more.
Like marijuana, hemp is a variety of the Cannabis sativa plant species. However, it is typically distinguished by
its lower concentration of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) which is the main psychoactive component of
cannabinoids (i.e. marijuana, hemp). Legally, industrial hemp cannot contain >0.3% THC on a dry weight basis.
With its fast-growing popularity, hemp has also become a primary source of CBD which like THC is a major
component of cannabinoids but has no psychoactive (“high”) effects.
In Oregon, cannabis is divided into 2 categories: industrial hemp and marijuana. If hemp-made, a license or
registration is not required for a business to sell CBD products under the state’s Hemp Program as long as the
product has <0.3% THC and is not advertised as a dietary supplement. Testing requirements are implemented
and enforced by the Oregon Department of Agriculture (ODA) to ensure growers and handlers are in
compliance prior to sale or transfer to consumers. Overall, there is no legal prohibition against the sale of CBD
products to individuals who are <21 years of age (unless it is used for the sale of inhalant delivery systems and
their components) or limitations on purchases from retail locations.
Per the Oregon Board of Pharmacy, CBD products can be sold at the pharmacy register by any staff, but all
questions related to CBD products must be directed to the pharmacist. CBD products should not be stored in the
pharmacy or ordered through the pharmacy. (source)
Where To Buy CBD Oil in Oregon